Posted by: stiltsville | September 23, 2010

It’s not about the paper

FACT: Jacksonville Times-Union just laid off 6% of their workforce. Last week, the Miami Herald blew out 49 more people right after management received this urgent communication from footsoldiers on the front lines of the info wars.

OPINION: I can write anything I damn well please here ’cause this is my blog. The blogosphere is full of opinion, innuendo and out-right falsehoods. Feel free to contribute all you want.

And that’s exactly why I like newspapers. They pay professional reporters and photographers to actually go and witness events and ask questions. Then they report back to you and me. Newspapers provide reliable, trustworthy facts around which I can form my own opinions. I, for one, don’t really care if they deliver the news on paper or not. In fact, I prefer not. We don’t need the “paper.” We need the journalists.

Leave a Reply

Categories

